FREE service provided by the Windcrest Police Department that offers a house check program to any resident of Windcrest that will be away from home. Complete a house check form (PDF) and turn it in to Windcrest Police Deparment
- The house check form must be picked up in person at the Windcrest Police Department or you may download a house check form (PDF)
- Fill out the form with as much information as possible
- A completed house check form should be returned to the Windcrest Police Department or faxed to 210-946-1819.
- Completed forms must be handed to a Windcrest Police Department Employee
Once a house check form is received it will be noted by the department and Windcrest officers will periodically check the home for suspicious activity or signs of criminal activity while the resident is away.
Note: This program is not available for homes that are for sale or homes that are vacant.
A home security inspection is a free service provided by the Windcrest Police Department, through the Texas Department of Insurance, to all Windcrest Residents.
All inspections are conducted by Police Officers who are state certified crime prevention specialists. The criteria for the inspections are set forth by the Texas Insurance Code, Article 5.33A, Section 6 (A) (1&2). Upon Completion of a home inspection, homeowners may qualify for an insurance premium discount.
Make an Appointment
Please call the Windcrest Police Department at 210-655-2666 for an appointment.
The Purpose of the Ride Along Program
To provide an opportunity for the community to see firsthand the day-to-day workings of law enforcement in Windcrest. Criminal Justice students and people interested in a career in law enforcement have found the program particularly useful. The program is intended to be an educational tool for participants.
- Completed application (can be picked up at the Windcrest Police Department, Monday through Friday 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM)
- Completed Background investigation to determine your qualifications
- Completed Windcrest Police Department's Release Form (MUST be notarized)
Persons NOT Eligible
The following persons are NOT eligible to ride:
- Those who have been convicted of a crime classified as a Class B or Class A misdemeanor in the last 7 years
- Those who are under indictment for information in any court for a crime classified as a Class B misdemeanor or higher
- Those who have been convicted of any felony
- Those who have a history of drug use/abuse within the last 3 years
- Those who have been adjudicated as a mental defective or committed to a mental institution
- Those who have provided false or misleading information on an application
- Those who has violated any provision of this policy or the Standards of Conduct and Appearance
- Those who are believed to have an intent or motive that is not in the best interest of the City or this department
- Those under the age of 18, unless specifically approved by the Chief of Police